Lifestyle · Reviews

World Breastfeeding Week

Because it is world breastfeeding week, I thought the time was perfect to share my journey with you all. I want to start by saying, I am not against formula. Aiva was a formula baby. For some babies, this is the only option, but having experienced both, I do know that breastfeeding was for me. 
Like I said, Aiva was on formula. When we had Aiva, I was 20 years old. Completely clueless to motherhood 😁. I tried breastfeeding and we made it a painful 19 days. I quit on day 19 and never looked back, until I had Dalton and realized I could have definitely pushed past the few weeks of pain.. I was almost there!! Oh well. We live and we learn. Aiva has always been super smart and healthy, advanced in all aspects of life… Sooo formula was fine for her obviously. 😆
Dalton, I knew I wanted to try harder for him when it came to breastfeeding. I pushed through the first 2-3 weeks of pain and all of a sudden life was so great and easy. I realized how easy breastfeeding made everything. No washing bottles, feed anywhere any time, no worrying if you were going to run out of formula in the middle of the night. I also quickly noticed the bond that we were making. Dalton NEEDED me. I was the only one who could instantly calm him down, and I loved that! Luckily for us, I stayed home so I could nurse on demand.. Which also fueled his mommy obsession. There were a lot of factors really, we lived in a small apartment so I didn’t want to bother our neighbors when he cried so I nursed him every single time he cried lol. Anyway, he grew up and we weaned at 15 months.. We were both not sleeping. Dalton only knew how to sleep if I nursed him and that needed to stop (because Wilson was on the way!) We took one night- Jared put him in his crib, rubbed his back until he fell asleep. Over and over that night and that was it! He slept all night every night every day since. He is still our best sleeper!


Wilson, I hoped this time around would be similar to Dalton, and it was. I was also so much more comfortable nursing this time around so it helped. I feel like I have it down by now. Third times a charm right? 😉 I also took a million pictures. I may have only shared them with my friends and my mom, but I was proud! 

I also found a whole bunch of other perks. The ease, bond of course, and breast milk heals all kinds of random things. 😂😂 I also was what some mamas in my mom group call “breastfeeding skinny” I ate whatever, whenever, didn’t work out and by the time my babies were one, I had lost all of the baby weight and then some. That is a dream right?? 😜 Breastfeeding burns TONS of calories I’ve heard. Chasing 3 Babies 2 years apart each may have also had something to do with it. But I do know that after Aiva I counted calories and worked out hard and I couldn’t lose the last 10 lbs. 

Like I said, I am fortunate enough to be able to stay home so my babies (the boys anyway) rarely needed bottles. I did like to have a stash in the freezer though just incase or if I needed some time out away from the kids! 
Tommee Tippee has an amazing breast pump called Pump and Go which uses one bag to store and feed so you don’t have to worry so much about spills. And any nursing mama knows how important this is.. Because you DO cry over spilled breast milk!! I will definitely be using this pump if there is ever another tiny Turcotte!
Happy World Breastfeeding Week!

XO,

   Allysha

2 thoughts on “World Breastfeeding Week

  1. It’s wonderful to read experiences for mothers who breastfeed and has breastfed. I tried breastfeeding for the first month, but each time my milk supply would decrease. I felt so guilty not being able to provide enough milk for my baby and making the switch to formula because a lot of moms (specifically my cousins and aunts) would pressure me into doing it. I just got down in the dumps for not being able to make anymore. Until a few months later, after reading so many forums, I realize that every mom is different and every baby is different. And that’s okay. I hope for my next baby, whenever that would be, I can try again. And if it happens again, I’ll also try not to be so hard on myself. Thanks for the post! I enjoyed reading it.

    1. Aw thank you! I have never shared my experience with anyone so this was new for me. I agree every mama and baby are so different. Best of luck to you in the future!!

Leave a Reply

