Lifestyle

Calvin Thomas 

Happy two weeks to my youngest babe, Calvin! What better time to share his birth story. 

If you follow me on Instagram you probably know that this pregnancy has been soo different than my previous 3. It started off with horrible morning sickness for the first 16 weeks. The middle was a breeze thank God! The end was even great UNTIL I had prodromal labor for 6 DAYS during the 38th week. I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. It was beyond brutal. I think we went into labor and delivery 5-6 times because I was having crazy contractions every 2-3 minutes for hours, or to be monitored. 🙄 the worst part was, there was nothing the doctors could do (other than sleeping pills which I gladly took because I NEEDED sleep.) because I wasn’t 39 weeks yet. Fortunately, at my 39 week check up, my doctor offered to schedule an induction at 39.2. Having been induced 3 times before, I wasn’t afraid of the process and I was way too afraid to go through that fake labor stuff again, so we went for it. 

We got everything in order and headed into the hospital Monday night. At this point, I was 3cm dilated. We started a round of cervadil which did nothing but make Calvin’s heart rate go all over the place. I spent the whole night with nurses making me roll over, switching sides to make the baby more relaxed. They finally took the cervadil out, no progress. I had a couple of hours to rest until we started pitocin. 

They started the pitocin at about 9 am. I was still at 3 cm and barely feeling the irregular contractions. They upped the pitocin every 30 minutes until we were at the max dosage. It still wasn’t doing much, contractions were random and tolerable. Around 1230 pm my dr came in and broke my water. At this point I was 4 cm. Water breaking is the weirdest feeling also, it’s like you peed yourself and just can’t stop lol. By 130, contractions were about 2-3 minutes apart and SO painful. Thank God for epidurals and for the lady who put mine in lol. By 2 pm I was 5 cm, feeling good, planning on squeezing in a nice epidural nap. At 3, my dr came in to check the progress and to all of our surprise, I was 10 cm and it was time to push! Calvin Thomas was born at 3:24 pm. 8 pounds 2 ounces and 20.25 inches of perfectness. 
Other than the week leading up to delivery, I had a dream labor. It was quick and easy. Recovery is so much easier with each child too! I was back to my normal routine by a week postpartum. 
We are so in love with the newest member of our family and we have enjoyed getting to know him for the past two weeks! 
XO, Allysha 

Leave a Reply

